Equal Rights for All.

Standard

I didn’t get to go to todays Equal Rights rally. I wanted to.

You know that phrase, “Let’s get one thing straight: I’m not.”? It applies to me. I’m very much in the rainbow, though you wouldn’t be able to tell from my relationship status. I have more of a leaning towards women than men, but I am in a long-term heterosexual relationship. We are engaged. I argue with myself daily over the desire to have a beautiful wedding, or doing what I think would be right to do: not getting married until my friends in homosexual relationships can get married as well. I am endlessly aware that if Jai (my fiancee) were a woman, I wouldn’t be legally permitted to have a big, romantic, girls’ dream wedding. I could throw something that looks and sounds like it, but it wouldn’t be one.

The strange thing is, no one has come to me and said “You can’t marry him, I don’t like your sexual habits.”
They only say that to same-sex couples.
What is the difference?
Besides, no one is asking YOU to have a same-sex relationship. If you don’t like it, don’t have one.

It’s worse when someone brings religion and ‘morality’ into it. The one religion does not apply to everyone.

Everyone deserves to have the same rights, the same treatment, and the same respect as every other person on Earth. No one has the right to say who is permitted to love who, or what parts go where. No one has the right to say whether things have to be black & white, shades of grey, or every colour of the rainbow.

Have a little respect for your fellow human being.
Stop thinking about what’s in their pants,
and start thinking about what’s in their heart.

(All images in this post were found through Google. They aren’t mine.)
Leave a Reply

